I’m going to Ukraine! + 5 Hard CZ-Eng Translations

4 thoughts on “I’m going to Ukraine! + 5 Hard CZ-Eng Translations”

  1. Hm. I’m not sure the pronoun problems you’re describing have anything to do with “svůj”. Depends on context, of course, but the rule of thumb is “svůj” always relates to the subject of the sentence. If the (grammatical) subject is “I”, it’s “my”, if it’s “he”, it’s “his” etc. I don’t see how this would lead to confusing “my” with “your”. That’s more likely just a general learner’s confusion. Thing is, even many Czechs have problems with “svůj” these days!
    What, from my Czech perspective, confuses Czechs more is the fact English uses a lot more of these pronouns than Czech does. You have to say “my father” in English; in Czech, you can just say “táta” and everyone will know you mean your own father.

    Like

    1. You’re right, I don’t know it so well myself, but it has been repeated so many times that I think it’s something about the translation that confuses them. But thanks for the tip!

      Like

Leave a Reply

